Khola Beach Anyone?

Well after a mad day of being out and about at the Bazars we headed off to Khola Beach, about 2km from Palolem, to spend the night in a tent Rajastan style.  The journey, began by being picked up and being dropped off at a construction sight, before the bus picked us up, as we traveled along the road became bumpy and when it came to going up hill it was quite steamy, the bus couldn’t cope with a full load and air conditioning.

We arrived at the private beach that had tents on little platforms dotted around this private land.  The tents were proper luxury, with plumbed toilets and showers, beautiful wooden furniture – it was quite tranquil.  There was a bar overlooking the beach, which of course had to be checked out.  The ocean crashed onto the beach, the dolphins frolicked (serious!) it was a little piece of heavan, alas I did have to spend some time reconciling the fact that I felt that I had completely sold out to tourist land!

Elements of my worst nightmare, I was part of a coach full of tourists from the UK (who were actually lovely, just to clarify) no locals, other than those working were allowed on the beach and I struggled with the whole idea of the exclusivity of this place that would be home for the evening, it is an experience I have never had in India.  Yes I know that I am not a local and always a tourist, but not usually engaged in purely tourist actitivies.  Anyhow after a while and a long walk along the beach I was able to at least relax a little.

We watched as the local women from the village came and performed some traditional dance, as an extremely intoxicated (not me) tourist joined in the dance and at one point we thought she was heading off into the night alone as she lost track of the dancers.  It was a beautiful and tranquil place but as a screaming extrovert I found it just a little too quiet.  We spent the morning preparing to leave today and just wandered along the beach with the waves crashing at our feet – yes I know quite something.

There is so much to write and to tell that my mind is on overload, we have taken 300 photo’s already – sunsets, people, streets!  There are things that I have forgotten to share, like walking into someone’s bedroom in Mumbai because I didn’t realise that we had not yet made it to reception, the standing at the open door of the train as we traveled through the country from Mumbai to Margoa, the walking into the mens toilets in Leopold’s because I was told there is a long corridor to walk down (poor Indian guy!!) Andy walking through the markets being asked do you see my shop only to reply with “yes I see your shop,” the fact that we have to order our water 5 minutes before we shower if we want hot water (which it seemed the first time to be a trade off, we got hot water then the electric went off!) We have spoken with so many local people and they have been so open to sharing their life in Goa, their life in India with us, there have been so many only in India moments, that I will share as I remember.

Tomorrow is rest day and then Sunday it is waterfalls and Spice plantation so will report in again soon! Nameste!

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Khola Beach Anyone?

  1. Maurie says:

    Well, the tent sounds familiar, and I like the sound of the beach etc. Have fun, enjoy it all, drink it in, enjoy the food, the markets, the people, and remember we love you guys. Cheers dears, from Yvonne and M.

Leave a Reply

