3 hours in!!!

Figured that seeing that I have the iPad I may as well use some of the long flight to begin the holiday journal! Although, nothing really to report at this stage! We boarded, we sat down we took off and we had our meal – all very pleasant really! Having watched one movie already and still being in Australian airspace I am reminded that this really is gonna be a long haul. The first time I flew to Australia, before we emigrated, we flew with Singapore Airlines and the in flight entertainment was all a bit of a novelty but it seems as with everything in life we soon become accustomed to what is around us and to be honest is watching tv for how ever many hours with headphones on that much of a treat? Now I am not complaining, nor suggesting that it’s preferable to have no in flight entertainment, I am simply reflecting on the fact that we are all on this big bird in the sky and very few people are speaking to one another, in fact as I glance around my seat there is no conversing even with travel partners let alone meeting new people. It seems well and truly gone are the days that you pack a deck of cards, we did take cards on a trip to India because we knew we were taking the train and obviously no on-board entertainment there so we had to think about how we would utilize our 14 hour journey time. Maybe I’ll go for a wander and see if I can make some new friends, but not sure how it will be received especially if I interrupt their movie watching – anyhow maybe I’ll report back on that if I actually dare. Maybe there should be an in-flight live entertainment thing, you know a bit of karaoke or a talent show just to fill a couple of hours, wonder how that would be received, with good humor or if the singer was really bad would it increase the risk of agitating perhaps already agitated travelers? Maybe instead of classes being separated by the amount of money you have paid it could be divided up based on “what entertainment do you want? Would you like to attend the karaoke bar for a couple of hours, followed by a quiet movie?” Now you may be mocking me as you read this but I could seriously be onto something here! Anyway going to turn off the iPad, and annoy my travel partner and see if I can incite some conversation – just tried but he asked me to wait till he has finished watching his movie, need I say more?

20120511-233031.jpg

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3 hours in!!!

  1. Janet Dean Solway says:

    what a lot you have to say Mrs Pickering given that you had hardly gone anywhere at this point in recording your adventures! see you vv soon!!

  2. your amazing younger daughter says:

    miss you both already xxxx.

Leave a Reply

