Finally arrived at Manchester

First of all the last leg seemed endless but thanks to the yoga i did manage to maneuver fairly well in my seat only to be asked by some old guy if I was a pole dancer! Yes it’s true – never thought that would ever be a question I would be asked! Well anyway we are here safe and sound and we headed off to check into the Escape lounge – lovely I hear you say, but hold that thought. We arrived only to find that we couldn’t access the lounge until we checked in our baggage which we cannot do until 12 noon when Janet and Andy arrive. Then in an attempt to get a refund BT took £5 from us before the call was answered! Anyhow thanks to some very helpful staff that’s all sorted but instead of a comfy lounge to rest in we have had to resort to a bench in a coffee shop in terminal 1!

It was a crisp 6 degrees when we landed so very pleased that I packed the old thermal vests I think I am gonna need them. The sun is out and the sky is clear but like I said it’s crisp (that’s the most polite way I can put it!) When we got off the flight I asked Alan why we decided to leave while others just seem very happy here. Obviously it’s our homeland but not anymore really – after the kerfuffle I think my question was answered but got to love old blighty! Alan reckons Manchester Airport is the most dysfunctional he has ever been in after visiting 3 change machines, all out of order, and then asking at counters to be told they don’t do change.

But that said it’s been a good journey, long but good and looking forward to seeing Janet and Andy before heading out to Budapest this afternoon and then we can settle, chill and get a good nights sleep tonight before the continuing adventures begin. We are running on reserve after having about 4 hours sleep in the last 36 hours.

Anyhow time to sign off for now!

20120512-192457.jpg

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

