Final day in Budapest – Berlin bound

Well it’s been a whirlwind visit! Yesterday we visited Fisherman’ Bastian and the palace and just generally wandered around Budapest. We took some great photo’s many of which we tried to recreate the statues we were in front of for a bit of a giggle. I was encouraged to do some more planking, anything for a laugh so of course I did, yes I know it’s old but hey we are on holiday.

Again we were generally blown away by the beauty of the city and just walked for what seemed to be forever. The palace was actually closed so we didn’t get a chance to wander around inside but outside was very picturesque with great views of the city from the walls. There was a very pretty church that we wanted to have a look in but I did refuse on the grounds of having to pay to go into a church, yes I get that they need to maintain it but the whole idea of charging a fee to enter sticks in my throat and reminds me of Jesus entering the temple courts and turning the tables over – so needless to say I didn’t go inside.

We went to For Sale a pub close by for the evening last night, very quirky lots of messages and photos stuck to the wall and ceiling – yes of course we did ours is placed firmly on the ceiling. The bar had straw all over the floor so this morning we all look like we have been pulled through a hedge backwards. Janet and myself got the party started by having a bit of a dance.

Another thing that was noticed over breakfast and I wonder whether or not it could help the fight against obesity – instead of 97% fat free we had butter that was clearly marked with 82% fat – no marketing gimmicks here it is what it is!

Please do not be fooled y the blog there are lots of moments that are unblogable!

Today it will be a wander around the markets and the city before we head off to the airport for Berlin our next destination for fun!

Couple of travel tips, we stayed at the Marriott Executive Apartments, great value and really comfortable. But make sure you book on line it is significantly cheaper than walking in off the street. The Hummus Bar and Govindas are great places to eat and great value. For breakfast we went to Cafe Orchidea next door to the apartments.

Hope you enjoy the photo’s!

20120515-082902.jpg

20120515-082922.jpg

20120515-082935.jpg

20120515-082947.jpg

20120515-083022.jpg

20120515-083042.jpg

20120515-083110.jpg

20120515-083137.jpg

20120515-083203.jpg

20120515-083240.jpg

20120515-083252.jpg

20120515-083311.jpg

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

