Good Bye Prague Hello Slovenia

We began our day in the Old New Synagogue, it was interesting to look around and the whole time I was wishing I could remember the Hebrew alphabet, it all looked so familiar but yet so foreign but it was interesting all the same. It was then time to go for a walk across Charles Bridge by day, we had done it by night so it seemed appropriate to do it by day. The bridge was lined with craft stalls and packed with people, the hustle and bustle as we crossed was mad. The city is so busy!

After a spot of lunch we wandered back across the bridge to brave the peddle boats, yes the peddle boats. We had been talking about a boat ride along the river and then we opt for peddle boats. I’d like to say it was relaxing but alas it was hard work, especially dodging the rather large boats going up and down the river. Janet lost Andy’s bandana so it was operation bandana rescue, full 360 degree turn followed by some rather swift maneuvering and reversing and we saved the bandana from its fate of drowning! please note it was Janet and I that saved the bandana, we where at the peddles the boys laying in the front shouting instructions! Although there was a rather large boat heading for us and Andy yelled “leave it, just leave it!” I think the fear of colliding with a much bigger vessel took over, but not for us girls we peddled on for the cause leaving us feeling that not only could we dodge boats but perhaps may be able to board one and take it over for ourselves. The bandana was no longer a bandana but rather a symbol of liberation, we would not leave it alone and trapped, left to the oppressive waters of Prague!

It was thirsty work all that peddling so of course we had to have a quick beer or two, I had been told that beer in Prague is cheaper than water and it actually is! Dinner was Indian at the Indian Jewel, fabulous food and great staff, in fact one woman who works there became our hero. Our camera placed on the back of the chair appeared to grow legs without us noticing. Some guy had come sat behind us and lifted the camera, but she saw him, remembered us from the previous night and recovered our camera – if you are ever in Prague head there for dinner. Apparently it was the first time in her 3 years working there that this had happened, but she was on the ball.

It was a sort of quiet pleasant day just wandering and looking. I mentioned that the city was busy, unfortunately what I would add is the reputation for its stag parties certainly draws them in. It was very sad the previous night as Janet and I sat in Bethlehem Square having a quiet beer to see a bunch of British guys shouting across the square and smashing glasses in the street as they passed. The ice hockey finals were been shown in the square and the atmosphere there was very pleasant, lots of cheering and singing, but no glass smashing! The astronomical clock, now there’s an adventure Janet had spent so much time building it up that when I finally got to see it it was a little bit of a let down, cute but not amazing – although the view from the top was, as I mentioned in the last blog breathtaking.

I finished my night with a bit of a giggle fix, a very northern British woman was sat in a Spanish restaurant speaking loudly “I’m not eating that if it’s got chilli in I’m allergic to chilli’s” the giggle factor is that we think she actually ate it and then refused to pay for it, with a threat of “I’ll smack him if makes me pay for it.” that’s one for all of us women from the north of England to aspire to! Come on Brits we are not all about smashing glasses in the streets and making threats because we have chilli’s in our meals, let the British reserve raise once more and show a bit of decorum.

Anyhow, we are now in the airport and ready for the next leg, Bled, Slovenia.

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Good Bye Prague Hello Slovenia

  1. Mollie says:

    Your lucky the waitress got my camera! Take care of it!!!! Loving and missing you all x.

  2. Lyndall says:

    Hello Lovely Ones, We are having fun, aren’t we. Hi Andy and Janet. Some of the photos are hilarious. I like the head in the cannon. So have you had an opportunity to pole dance yet. Perhaps Andy and Wedge could don their mankinies, find a pole and have a go!
    Keep having fun. xxxx

  3. Yvonne Liekefett says:

    Hi guys, still following your adventures/exploits/whatever. Have fun (silly thing to say, I KNOW you are!) See you July. (Yvonne & M)

Leave a Reply

