Under the Sea!

It’s been a while but I’m back with my latest adventure, and as I am now almost at the end of the adventure I feel confident to share!

Diving, something I thought I could never do, but I have only one dive left to get my open water certification. Before I share the actual course I need to share about where I did it, no not being paid to do so, just had a great experience. I chose Dive World, now at Murrarie, to do my course because Alan and Mollie did theirs there. I didn’t know anyone and other than reading my manual my experience in the water was a pretty pathetic excuse.

The guys who work at this place, it has to be said, are great, they are encouraging, supportive and enthusiastic – These guys either really love their work and what they do or else they have amazing acting skills and are in the wrong jobs! The energy is positive and you can’t help but get caught in that and leave on a high – well that’s my experience anyway. Throughout the course the only person that spoke of or exhibited any doubt in me, was me. So to the team at Dive World I have to say thank you I have had an amazing time and will be back to carry on diving! In particular Chris, our instructor, an amazing teacher, patient and happy and I would say very passionate about what he does, his energy is positive and high and the reality is that you can’t help but feed from that.

The other thing is I hadn’t met anyone else on this course until the day I rocked up and again all I can say is it has been an amazing experience and I will hopefully dive with them all at some point again.

The first day is a long arduous day, not because it’s a physical day but because you have to sit through DVD’s and the theory – never an easy task and as always with training DVD’s there are the moments in the chapters, of corny music and the token plonker! But that said it’s informative and tells you pretty much what you need to know in theory!

The second day – at the pool. This is when the physical hard work comes in, well for me it was, I’ve never particularly liked physical hard work and I am not shamed to admit that, nor to admit that I stacked it before I even reached the pool;) The day starts with learning to put your gear together and taking it apart before loading the trailer and heading down to the pool for the 200m swim, 10 minute floating/treading water and confined water dives.

That first moment that you go under the water and realise that you can still actually breath is quite amazing, what was even more amazing for me was that I got to go to the bottom of the pool, seriously I float and have never been able to get down there – yes a minor thing generally but a huge step for me! When you watch the DVD and you read the manual there are things that are explained and for me I just couldn’t get my head around some of it, how can that work was my thinking! An example is the free flowing air how can you take a regulator out of your mouth and sip the air and not drown – well it’s true, they are not telling fibs, it actually works!

Day three was a bit of a disappointment but the cause was the weather, which unfortunately no-one can control, we got to the Spit down the coast to find choppy, murky water so our first dive was a no go. I thought I might be a bit relieved but by this stage I just wanted to get in and do it! But Chris our instructor did go the extra mile and head off to see if we could find something – even a lake in the middle of a housing estate but alas it was not to be – so it was back to the classroom for our quizzes and exam. Although it would’ve been funny to see Chris lead us diving students into that lake and to see the faces of the residents!

Day four – what can I say, after a choppy crossing across the bay we went to the wrecks at Moreton Island. The whole time I was not sure that I would be able to step off that boat when we got there, but I did it, again thanks to the encouragement of the Dive world team, my buddy and the rest of the team – how gushy is that sound like I won an oscar – well it feels that way – from pathetic in the water to actually diving, why would I not thank the people around me! We completed the skills that we needed to do and then we got the opportunity to swim around the wrecks, before our even choppier return home!

Bottom line is if you have ever thought about it, do it, it really is an amazing experience, recommendations I can only recommend Dive World because that’s my experience and they worked for me – a great time and I learned to dive, what more can you ask?

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Adventure and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

