Final Dive

After an early(ish, in comparison to some I suppose) start it was off to the Tweed for my final dive and the first dive for the rest of the group. Again the energy was positive, particularly seeing as conditions have not been great! After a fair drive down the coast we arrived to what can politely be described as less than beautiful crystal clear conditions. But will that stop us, no never, the dive was gonna happen, we could see water coloured water, just in the ever so slight distance! The current was, well I would say, fairly strong and there was a pretty layer of foamy stuff on the top, which ended up being termed whale juice, yes whale juice 🙂

After a short wait we went for it, Chris went to check that there was actually some visibility before we all headed in like a gaggle of immature geese flapping around! I have to admit I was still in a little bit of amazement that I managed Friday, so this was the moment to prove it was not a fluke and that I could do it!

Down we went into the crystal murky waters, I reckon this was definitely a creative dive, use your imagination and you could see all sorts of stuff, but I did seriously and really see fish, not sure what type but they where definitely fish!

The main group completed some of their skills and I had to complete mine, which I did. My final skill was the CESA so it was off through the whale juice to find a deep enough spot to complete my course and yep I did it.

I really do have to thank Chris for his teaching, his patience and energy, Friday was only the second time in my life that I had been in the ocean out of my depth, suspended in the water! The whole team at dive world had such a positive energy all of which was certainly part of my ability to accomplish something I never thought I could actually do. Well, still on a high, but pretty hooked and looking forward to my holiday next week, which includes diving on Mabul and Sipidan Island Borneo and then I think it will be my advanced ticket.

PADI hi five guys and thank you!

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Adventure and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

