Fireflies and monkey’s just a little bit perfect!

I figured as tomorrow is a full on day I would chill out with my cup of tea and write about today!

After a slow start and a good breakfast we took a stroll around the Sunday markets, it was pleasant but have come to the conclusion I really am not a shopper, but I stuck it out and was rewarded with a nice coffee! We had an hour to kill before we went on our tour so Alan suggested we walk up to the observation platform for a birds eye view of Kota Kinabalu, now seriously folks 11:30am the sun beating down and we are about to walk up what looked like a zillion steps! Well to be quite honest about half way up it felt like a zillion steps and I thought I might begin to suffer from altitude sickness – no I am not a drama queen! We made it to the top (I reckon I am now ready for Everest) and it was great to see the ocean in all it’s color and beauty, the view was a little obscured by the buildings but still it was a beautiful view. We caught out breath and it was time to head back down and yes we counted the steps – 324 in total, it might not sound a lot but believe me it was hard yakka!

After a spot of lunch it was off to meet our guide for the tour. It took about two hours, including a police road block to arrive at the rainforest and the river Klias and after a drink it was on the boat to go monkey spotting. Some of the forest was a bit dense but we looked intensely for the Probiscus monkey’s. the first monkey spotted was a long tail macaque, apparently a mischievous little thing that can even catch fish with its tail! We travelled for quite some time longer and saw only more long tail macaques and we both asked if we felt a bit ripped off at not seeing the Probiscus, but then we also both agreed that we were getting to view the monkey’s in their wild and natural habitat and not a zoo, so we continued our search. Then the moment came in a tree in the distance we saw our first real wild Probiscus monkey, it was some way off but still very exciting, at least we could say we saw one. As we were heading back for dinner we saw boats gathered and that was a great sign, as we approached we could see the gathering of about 6 or 7 Probiscus monkey’s high up in the trees preparing to settle down for the night – what a sight is all I can say, we took photo’s but they were so high in the tree it does the occasion no real justice.

We headed back to the base for dinner and then back on the boat to go see the fireflies. I wasn’t sure what to expect, I’ve never seen a firefly, it was dark, we were on a wooden boat in a river with crocodiles, but then as we turned the corner it looked as though someone had plugged in fairy lights on a tree. The fireflies twinkled like lights all over the tree, quite an amazing sight, very beautiful, very pretty.

Creation and nature really is an amazing thing when we stop and take the time to take it in, I reckon we all occasionally need to stop and smell the roses of the beauty that surrounds us, to have our breath taken away and to sit in awe at the wonders of nature. Out of our hectic lives would it really hurt to take some down time to enjoy our surrounds and to perhaps look at them through different eyes? The firefly has a “shelf life” as Sam our guide called it, of only one month and tonight we got to witness their beauty by the hundreds.

It’s time to turn in now to get a good nights sleep for our diving in the morning!

20130311-080201.jpg

20130311-080224.jpg

20130311-080235.jpg

20130311-080249.jpg

20130311-080259.jpg

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

