Last day in KK

Well we arrived back in Kota Kinabalu on Saturday late afternoon and checked into the Best Western Kinabalu Daya hotel, bit of luxury before we head home. As we had discovered that we had a full day and extra night here, due to my extraordinary planning skills the first thing we did was book another day diving for Sunday. We went for a wander and bumped into a couple we had met diving last week and ended up having dinner together, which was really nice but then it was back to the hotel for a good nights sleep before a day of diving.

Our morning started early as we were picked up by the downbelow shuttle and headed off to the marina for the transfer to the island, we had our dive brief and was off on the water ready for the dive. It took me a little time to get under because I now have a bit of a cold, but was determined to give the diving a go and after a little time I was under and off we went. Visibility wasn’t too bad at the dive site of north Sulug Island, we got to see clown fish, nudibranches, coral, angel fish, stone fish, yeah and so on! It was a fairly pleasant dive. After a surface interval and dive brief it was off to Mid Reef Wreck for dive two. The visibility was absolutely terrible, and again because of my cold equalizing just seemed to be getting a little more difficult, then for about the first 10 meters down you couldn’t see anything, just a mass of green! Once down at about 12 meters visibility began to get somewhat better, but disaster struck (no panic just being dramatic!) I was taking in water through my regulator, I continued for a little while but eventually had to alert our divemaster. It is at moments like this your realism how important the dive training is,first step was swap to alternate air source, but after my cautious first breath I took a larger breath to find that was letting water in even worse, so it was onto the buddy alternate air source and ascend to the surface!

All I can say is any experience is a good experience when it goes well, it was good to know that I wouldn’t panic in such a situation so it just builds the confidence. That was however, my last dive, my ear was now becoming sore, visibility was shocking so I decided that I would chill on the beach for the arvo and focus on getting rid of my cold for diving once I am home! Alan went. On to the third dive and had a good time, he reckons visibility was slightly better and he got to see trumpet fish and bat fish so all in all it was a really good day but tiring, as it seems it always is.

Our evening was down the Irish bar with a couple we had met on the diving day to celebrate St Patricks Day and unleash the little leprechaun that lies within.

Alas the time has come for us to head home, we fly to Singapore this lunch and will hang out in Singapore for a few hours before heading back to brisvagas! We have had an amazing time, we have met amazing people and had amazing experiences and so, it is with a bit of sadness actually, that we farewell Borneo desperate to prepare for another adventure somewhere in the world, but we will one day definitely return to Borneo there is still too much to see and experience to tick off as “been there done that” just yet 😉

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Adventure, holiday, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

