A week of Sun, Sand and Sea – Pt 1 Diving the Ex-HMAS Brisbane & Dancing in West End

The great thing about people popping by and staying with you is that you are of course obliged to show them some sights so the next few posts are gonna be about sharing those shared moments with friends. The first being another dive on the Ex-HMAS Brisbane.

We met a couple of people while traveling in Borneo and of course the thing to do is suggest that if they are ever traveling through Brisbane pop in and we’ll show you the sights and it is always great when they do just that! As we met them whilst diving it seemed appropriate to look for a diving opportunity and all things taken into consideration the Ex-HMAS Brisbane seemed like the perfect option. This time we used Sunreef Diving at Mooloolaba on the Sunshine Coast.

We hopped on the boat and donned our gear before stepping out into the ocean, and as usual once you enter the water you enter what seems to be another realm, even though I have dived this site before the awe and wonder of entering the ocean abounds. Greeted by Bat Fish and an array of other marine life is just absolutely breathtaking. The first dive was an orientation dive pretty much, we swam around the outside of the wrecks taking in the marine life, the 3 flathead fish laying on the bottom of the ocean were huge, but just laid there, not perturbed by our presence. After about 30 mins diving it was tie for a nice cup of tea and a biscuit while we took our surface interval and listened to the brief for the second dive.

The second dive was going to be inside the wrecks, and I have to be very honest and say I was a bit concerned, I am a little claustrophobic and had on the previous dive refused to enter into the wrecks, but I thought well I will give it a go, especially as only 3 months ago I have vowed I would never scuba dive.

So we stepped off the boat and headed to the hatch and swam down, then through another hatch. It was dark and eerie but at this point I was fine. We swam through a hall and into a corridor, my torch wouldn’t work and that was it for me, it was time to make a speedy exit to the outside of the wrecks. I felt just too closed in but once on the outside I caught my breath once more and enjoyed the ocean. It’s always important to look at the positives of any situation and this is no different, because had I not made this rather hasty retreat outside of the wreck I would never have seen my first ever Guitar Shark, laying at the bottom about 2 – 2.5 mt in length – so no dive is a bad dive 🙂

I am finding that while exhausting, diving leaves me on a high so we had quite sufficient energy when we arrived home to grab a shower, grab some food and head out to The Boundary Hotel in West End to listen to a little blues! We had a few drinks, chatted and danced the night away, finishing our night at Irish Murphys Irish Bar in the city.

Great day had by all!

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Adventure, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

