A Week of Sun, Sand and Sea – Pt 3, Diving Cook Island, NSW.

IMG_1312

IMG_1313

IMG_1314

IMG_1315

72798_552930458063059_388844195_n

297917_552930414729730_354435199_n

So by this point we have said good bye to the first of our visitors and hello to a couple of new visitors. It was a public holiday and we had already agreed to head off diving, so being the terrible hosts we are we left our visitors and headed off to Cook Island, NSW. It was a bit of a drive down the south coast to Fingal Heads where we would launch the boat and head out to Cook island, but a nice drive nonetheless. The weather was perfect and the forecast for the day was great so we launched the boat and headed to the bar to get out to the ocean. It was calm with very little chop and Cook Island is so close once over the bar. We anchored the boat onto the public buoy and then donned the dive gear once more.

We went in, and the vis was good and the marine life pretty awesome. Within about 10mins I got what I had wanted – to see a turtle swimming beneath the ocean and that was pretty cool! There wasn’t much current on the way out so we just drifted casually through the water taking in the sights, then I got a glimpse of my first Wobbygong Shark and that was pretty cool too!

The marine life never ceases to amaze me, neither does the peace of being underwater, it’s as if the whole of the above the ocean world fades away along with all the hassles of living in the world as it is today. There is of course the food chain which could be seen as not too pleasant but ultimately all this marine life seem to just get along in harmony – maybe I am still looking through rose coloured spectacles but there is something beautiful and peaceful about the ocean.

The swim back seemed a little harder because of the surge, we would move forward and then the surge would pull us gently backwards. But we got back to the boat and climbed in for the surface interval. I decided I would stay on the boat while the others headed back in for a second dive. Like being underwater, I find being in the boat alone with no-one else around peaceful, a time to reflect and enjoy the tranquility of aloneness, the transition from breathing from a tank, every breath audible, to the silence of breathing in the fresh ocean air. Different surrounds, different world.

After our dive, I got to drive back to Fingal and attempt my first ever bar crossing, I was nervous, but I do declare I managed and fairly well, even though I do say so myself, this of course being judged on the fact that I did not capsize the boat!

Once back on shore and gear rinsed it was time to find food, so we found the local chippy and grabbed food and coffee. Once the food was safely in our hands we decided we would head off to the lighthouse area so that we could look over the ocean. We took root under a tree to eat and as we sat down to tuck in a huge pod of dolphins swam past, the ocean looked so clear and blue, the waves crashed against the Giant’s Causeway, people walked hand in hand along the top and others fished from the rocks. After we had finished eating I wandered to the edge to sit on the rocks and look over the ocean and Cook Island and take in the sights.

It was time to head home but not before acknowledging that again we had experienced another little piece of paradise on our doorstep (well a bit of a drive but nothing huge!)

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Adventure, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

