Friendly Bungalows – don’t do it!

We booked with Friendly Bungalows through Expedia on the net but beware, their prices are extortionate as we found out. We stayed at probably the most expensive place in a Tanna and because of the remoteness there is no choice. All meals are three course, no choice, which is fair enough but we didn’t want three courses and the price remained the same. Here are the costs:

Return airport transfers 8,500 vatu per person (Port Resolution, we were informed costs 2,500 return per person)
Lunch 2,500 vatu
Dinner 3,000 vatu
Sandwich 950 vatu
Volcano 12,500 vatu (it’s only 6km away and 2,500 entrance fee)
Shell of Kava 500 vatu (it’s 100 per shell at a Kava bar)

It is pretty, the people friendly but in my opinion the owners are seriously cashing in on the remote factor. We tried hard to organize tours but could not get the communication happening, all we got to see was the volcano, I really wanted to do the Friday night at the Jon Frum Cargo cult but even though I asked immediately on arrival it never happened. Very disappointed! It was the most expensive part of our trip and by far the most disappointing, obviously Mt Yasur was worth seeing, but it came at great expense to us. We decided we would only eat breakfast, which was included and dinner, we took food with us and wine, I have no idea how much a beer or wine could cost us.

We did have mice in the room at night, but some of that does go with sleeping in a hut in the middle of nowhere, so not an issue, just good to be aware. To charge your phone before 5:30pm cost 200 vatu (my phone was my camera, there is no reception) there was generally no power from about 10pm at night until 5:30pm the next day, again remoteness into consideration something you can live with, but good to be aware of. If you want seclusion, quite and cost is not an issue then you would probably love it, as I say it is very pretty.

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in holiday, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

