Mothers Day

Facebook only really allows you to write so much, so I thought hey why not blog!

I think that being a mother has been the toughest most important role I have held in life! For no other reason other than from the moment my beautiful girls entered this world every response and decision that I have made has played part in the formation of their lives and in reality there is no handbook in the world that can truly tell you how to parent a child, because each child is so unique. I have two beautiful amazing daughters and I cannot forget an amazing husband who has been on every step of the journey. I reckon we only have 12 years to instill values in our children because then teenager status kicks in and they are pretty much indestructible (well at least they think that are) and the journey to adulthood commences. Some days are hard and some are the most brightest but all are important milestones. I have witnessed our girls grow into beautiful, intelligent and compassionate young women and as a mother I couldn’t be happier with who our children are and have become. Now women in their own right I watch and listen as they make decisions about their lives, decisions that pave the way to their future, their hopes dreams and aspirations. There have been times when you know that it will all end in tears but all you can do is step back, let it play out and let them know you love them and will be there for them if or when it all goes pear shaped. Nursing the broken heart is far greater than that grazed knee that needs a gentle kiss, journeying through the disappointments is harder than that first day dropping them at school. Every single moment is a heart moment, some bring joy some bring pain. As a mother I only want the absolute best for our girls, sometimes my advice is welcomed sometimes it’s harshly rejected. I don’t always have the right words, or the answers, sometimes my responses are received with joy others not so joyous. It’s ok to say we don’t have the answer, this is something you have to work out for yourself, it’s just important that we are there to support. Parenthood is hard but the rewards can be profoundly amazing. Never miss the moments to say I love you, never be too busy to hug, embrace every moment because it’s not just our children that are learning it’s us as parents too. Our children teach us so much about life and ourselves. I listen and learn from challenges our girls offer, none of us gets it right every time, but I believe if we listen, reflect and learn we continue to grow as parents as our children grow as people. Being a parent and child is a lifelong journey, a journey that I personally want to live every moment of in the fullest possible way. Thank you my daughters for helping me to be a mother, for pulling me up when I need it, for being compassionate and loving, for the concerns you have about our world and the people in it. Thank you for the love you have given me, the hugs, the support and the wisdom you offer.

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

