El Camino de Santiago Bound

Well, here we are at Brisbane airport waiting to board our flight to Heathrow then transfer to Santiago to walk the last 115km of the Camino otherwise known as the Way of St James. We have packed frugally and in fact I made a decision to pack with the word disposable in mind. It’s recommended not to carry more than 10% of your body weight! which can be a challenge when the walk is two weeks but at the beginning of a four week holiday so here is my tip. Since planning the holiday I have thought about what clothes I may not need anymore and saved them. So I find my self sat in a pair of cotton pants (holes included) a second hand top and jacket and a back pack full of items that I can discard of throughout all totaling 6kg for my journey. I have been mocked but I reckon it’s the way to do the way. I will not be burdened with a heavy back pack even if the road gets a bit tough, my back pack will get progressively lighter throughout the journey – the disposable Camino is the way to go I reckon, anywho, I am waiting to board and beginning to ask the questions of why am I doing the Camino, even though only in part, what do I hope to gain from it and what do I expect? Who knows, at this stage it is excitement about the journey, the holiday, the meeting of friends, but I think there may be more on store as we walk The Way, bueno Camino amigos!

20140704-222338-80618097.jpg

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Adventure, holiday, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to El Camino de Santiago Bound

  1. Have a great time Sue!
    My uncle does the Camino every few years and sends emails along the way each time – it sounds truly rewarding and great fun. Mum and I hope to do it one day…you’ll have to tell us all about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

