11km down the track!

Did I meet the divine energy, well to be honest the first hill made me wonder whether I might meet my maker, holy moly! But we have managed the first 11km in 3.5 hours and it is officially beer o clock in Morgade. It has already been a challenge, physically and mentally, the first blister has made an appearance, but the countryside is absolutely amazing, the terrain is generally pleasant but the inclines can feel a little cruel. We have no idea what the afternoon will bring, we are making it our own.

So I return to this blog after dinner at 8:05pm and can confirm we decided to continue walking to Portomarin, a grueling 24km, plus a little more trying to find a bed for the night! Yes you got it we arrived to be told no room at the inn! We did however, find a wonderful woman who offered to ring around for us and she found us a bed each, you seriously have no idea how relieved I felt. The walk became grueling because on top of walking up and down hill I have my backpack on which makes a serious difference. I ache from head to foot and now come complete with four band aids covering early stage blisters. My lower back is very sad after being a perch for my back pack for around 6 hours. My shoulders are screaming – basically I am just a little bit broken. In a bid to be mindful and in the present I am reminding myself we are now a day ahead of our schedule and I will never again have to walk those 24km.

It’s in the moments when you feel just that little bit broken that you have to search yourself for the inner strength to carry on, there are no taxi stands, there are no bus stops and for the last 4 km’s there were no Albergues, the only option was get to Portomarin, no choice just keep going. In my head I just wanted to stop, and even though the evenings are quite cold the option of just unrolling my sleeping bag on the side of the road felt like an amazingly beautiful option.

I lay on my bunk now, not sure of how my poor old aching body will respond tomorrow, where I will get the strength to continue on, I know drama queen, I am doing only a fraction of the walk, but I don’t think I have ever ached quite so much. Now it’s simply time for sleep and restoration.

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Adventure, holiday, travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

