Eirexe to Melide

After a really good nights sleep it was time to get up and head off on the way again. It was only a short 2km walk for breakfast to set us up for the day ahead. The worst is now well and truly behind up, most of the terrain to come is flat with gentle inclines and declines.

The countryside is absolutely beautiful, green rolling hills, wild flowers, blue skies and the sun shining, the wind has a little bit of a bite, but it cools you as you walk. Our decision not to walk to the main spots has definitely being a wise one. We have bumped into people we recognize and the path is carrying only a few at a time. After the night we went to the main stop the next morning was just pure hustle and bustle with people, all leaving within an hour of each other and cafe stops bursting with people, we found ourselves to be the only ones at breakfast, the majority of people behind us or ahead.

Once we reached the next major stop we popped into the supermarket to buy our picnic lunch, the a bottle of wine and hit the road again for another hour before pulling up on the side of the pathway to share food together and wash it down with a cheeky little red.

After lunch it was back on the road, with no specific plans of where or what time we would pull up. We reached Furelos and the ancient bridge, very picturesque, the air is fresh, the landscape green and the sound of water rushing by, makes the calves feel ever so much more bearable.

We walked over 22kms once more, far exceeding anything that we had planned before we arrived. We had placed a 10km limit on our days, but for me the decision not to head to major stops and to walk as far as our legs and bodies will allow has been a liberating decision. So often as humans we place limits upon ourselves, we fence ourselves in, so I can only describe this experience so far as a liberating one. Instead of remaining within the limits, the barriers that I have placed upon myself, I have listened to my body and realized that I limit myself and do not trust in my own inner ability and strength, from a spiritual perspective it is relying on the spirit within to determine what my capability actually is, so this for me has become a journey of liberation, setting myself free from the limits I place upon myself.

We found a good Albergue, Pereiro in Melide, it was comfortable and clean. Our legs were screaming and our bodies weary, but again another achievement beyond what we imagined.

Oh one wise travel tip for ladies with “she wee’s” don’t use them under pressure of people saying “quick someone’s coming” it will only result in wet pants!

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Adventure, holiday, travel, Walking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Eirexe to Melide

  1. Lea says:

    Enjoying reading what you are sharing. Interesting connection with braving the elements. Went with Taliah and Elysha today to Snow Kids – the girls tobogganed?, built snow men, and threw snow balls – the day was sunny but with a southerly chill and the girls felt the cold. Taliah’s shoes were wet and felt frozen and we really appreciated the warmth of the bus on the way home, and enjoyed the fun we had with a new appreciation of experience. Enjoy the liberty of the flat (emotionally and physically).

    • revthreads says:

      Hey lea, just pulled up after a grueling 25km, so much for 10 a day hahaha, we are quite broken but the experience is amazing and we are still laughing. Good to hear the girls have experienced tobogganing and snow balling. Experience is good as long as safe. We will reach Santiago Saturday as opposed to next Thursday so some well earned down time coming up xx

    • revthreads says:

      Lea sorry to mention work, but Chanel Lucas has contacted me and I can’t reply xx

Leave a Reply

