Salceda to Lavacolla

Well not such a big day today only 17.5kms, which leaves us a steady 10.4kms tomorrow to get us to the Cathedral at Santiago. It’s been a great day, our friend Sarah joined us and walked the last 14kms of the day and we pulled up in a hotel, Ruta Jacobea, for the night. Our bodies are sore and aching but we are all so determined now we are so close.

Again it has been a day of inclines and declines with the odd flat stretch in between, although it is getting to a point now where when we see a hill it is a bit unbearable, for me it’s head down and one foot in front of the other trying not to look ahead at how long the incline is! The sun has been blaring today so while not too hot it had a bite, hence a bit of burn on my calls, not big or clever I know!

While we are all looking forward to the end, for me personally there is a little bit of sadness at this coming to an end, I think because it has been such a challenge, physically, etc., we have met some great people on the way and we have smashed our timing. I am not sure what I will feel when I get to the cathedral tomorrow and I have worked hard at not building any expectation, back to the present and mindfulness, it will be what it will be and will bring what it brings.

It’s time to get my head down for the night before our final day. To finish tonight’s blog I have to confess, I can’t wait to not have to carry my bloody back pack all day everyday, to not having my washing hanging off the pack as I walk and to wearing my sandals! It’s the small things in life that bring pleasure.

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Adventure, El Camino, holiday, travel, Walking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

