Day 1 of R & R – Santiago

We obviously needed the sleep, it was 9:40am before we dragged ourselves out of bed. My legs felt like new, a little spring in my step. While I walked 2 of the days with a strapped knee and ankle, I now have no pain, it feels good. The down side to the good sleep was that by the time we had all managed to eat breakfast and have a nice cup of tea we had missed mass at the cathedral, well the morning mass anyway.

The most liberating feeling so far is no back pack, serious you have no idea! And to add to that my feet are liberated, I have my sandals on – it truly is the small things in life that can bring great pleasure. It seems that each day may just bring another dimension after the walk, the being present in the here and now is something I really want to work on, it is so important if you don’t want to miss life.

So the morning was dedicated to making a few plans for the remainder of our time in Santiago. Of course the football final was on this evening and there was no way any plans would be made for an early morning start tomorrow, but we decided that Tuesday we will catch a bus to Finisterre, also known as the “end of the earth” the morning however would now be our morning of popping into tacky souvenir shops with a few cups of tea popped in for good measure. We also sort a veggie restaurant La Tulla, tucked away in a side street for dinner.

We visited a church which had blended the new of artists with the old, it was interesting and I imagine that with a good guided meditation reflection it would have been quite powerful. There was a small labyrinth built up with glass sides in the centre of the crumbling building, and lights flashing on the wall shaped like windows and a slides how of various nature shots in the corner. Without the right frame of mind it seemed just a little strange. It was then time to hit the gallery of contemporary art, which always leaves you with the question, “what is art?” The first exhibit was just a bit strange lots of clay bodies, two real rats strapped together, but by far the strangest was a cat, cut in half and sprayed black, very disturbing indeed, all in the name of art, it’s obvious that my mind just don’t work like that.

The old town in Santiago is a beautiful place, with it’s cobbled streets and tiny lane ways. The buildings have so much character, there is no doubt that you’re in Europe. It’s Sunday so most shops are closed but the cafés and bars are alive with the chitter chatter of people, most of which have completed the Camino, but I’m sure there are the odd tourist splashed in there. People are limping, legs are strapped, but faces are relieved, the air is filled with a sense of achievement, and why not I say!

The evening was mass at the cathedral, in Spanish, then dinner at the veggie restaurant, which was closed so that didn’t happen then it was time to pretty much bed down for the football, so it was vino tinto and kick back.

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Adventure, holiday, travel, Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

