Scotland to Hull

Well wifi has been a bit intermittent, but we left Iona, and spent the night on Mull. The scenery in Mull, in fact right through the highlands, is spectacular. The mountains line the sky, the highland cows stand majestically watching the world go past and sheep roam the pastures. It’s so green with boulders and trees making an appearance along the way.

We stayed at the Craignure Inn, very quaint, the building itself is 200 years old, so much character. We visited Tobermory and had a wander, the water is so clear. There are lots of sightseeing opportunities but to be honest we were happy wandering and taking in the scenery. Must recommend the vegetarian haggis with whiskey sauce, very tasty, there is also a vegetarian option for breakfast, so overall well impressed with the Craignure Inn.

After our night it was time to hop on the ferry back to Oban for our final night in Scotland, we stayed at Corran House. Corran house was a bit of a let down, I have no issue sharing bathrooms and really like community areas you meet interesting people, but on our floor there was no shower only a bath and the toilet and bathroom door was half frosted glass which feels a little intimidating, it was hot so our room in the loft was stuffy even with the window open – that said we slept fairly well before heading down to Inverary.

Inverary for me was an interesting journey, I had not visited since before my father died 19 years ago, so it would be 20 – 21 years since I was last there. I met my cousin who I had also not seen for about 20 years which was fantastic it was so good to see him and re-connect. Living overseas has highlighted the importance of heritage and roots, I have a whole family in Scotland and England, and as the generations of my immediate family grows in Australia I want to be able to share with them their connections with family in the UK. Inverary itself has not changed much, it was as I remembered it, beautiful Loch Fyne and the stone bridge as you enter from the South.

After our time in Inverary it was time to head to Hull, we had decided that we would not let people know we had arrived back the day earlier than originally planned, it was an opportunity to wander together and reminisce.

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Adventure, holiday, travel, Uncategorized, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

