Back on the Mainland

Our transit back to the mainland and across to Pacific Harbour was a long one, the flyer was running a little late, then our accommodation seemed to forget to pick us up so had to organize with a local taxi driver and then it was a 2 he, possibly a little more, drive to Uprising Resort – please remember we are now working in Pacific time and the journey seemed to be in Pacific Km’s too! That said this is not a grumble, it is what it is and we are kicking back to all that comes.

Arriving late pretty much meant straight to bed. Mr Revthreads headed out this morning to his shark dive, where he encountered quite a few Bull Sharks up to 3 meters in length, some reef sharks and lots of big fish. He had a blast and is quite exhausted by his adventure – go him is all I can say! He went diving with Beqa Diving the total cost was $370.00 (Fj$) for two dives with a pick up from the resort.

Meanwhile I chose a slightly less challenging option, a walk to the pacific harbour craft village. It was a pleasant walk along the roadside, no path and at one point I thought “wow I am probably more likely to get killed than Mr Revthreads here!” Anyhow, it was a very pleasant walk. The craft village is nothing to scream about, a few shops and cafes, I stopped for coffee, the first place had instant only, the next place was shut, the next had a coffee machine but no water, so instant did just fine, memories of India sort of flash in and out.

There’s not much to write home about at the minute, but it has become customary to make a blog entry when I am away and I have some down time.

Weather on the mainland is a little wetter, but it’s still hot, probably a little more dangerous, because you could lay out all day and not realize how burnt you actually are (no, not me, sun safe most of the way!)

It’s probably gonna be a bit of a quiet do nothing couple of days until we head off to Daku to begin our diving certification, so Saturday is gonna be another huge traveling day as we head back to Nadi to head off to Savusavu.

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Diving, holiday, travel, Uncategorized, Vegetarian, Vegetarian Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

