Pacific Harbor to Savusavu

Well it was a bit of a haul, 2 hours to Nadi, 45 minute flight to Labasa followed by 1.5 hours to Daku Resort. We have an amazing room, huge deck, small pool on the deck and the villa is completely kitted out, which means we can do some cooking ourselves! Anywho, this morning I woke early and just sat and read, at about 7am the horn of the Sun Princess sounded as she came into the harbor area.

Now I have to confess that I am not really into cruises, but speaking with the locals I realize how important these visits are to the local people and their income. But I wonder about the impact on the water, the coral and the local people. These great floating malls, which is how I think of them really, a giant floating Westfield shopping centre with bedrooms added to the shops and food court, they arrive into pristine waters, drop huge anchors and then there is the matter of fuel pollution – will this eventually destroy the pristine waters? We heard the ding dong, probably the signal to all onboard that they had arrived at their destination.

We wandered down to the town to get some supplies and the street near the mariner was lined with stalls of handcrafts, all the shops were open, all the tourists spending a little here and there, then taking up residence in the local bar by around 10:30am!

Now I have more to say on people on the cruises, I am sure it does not apply to all, but it has been something that has been running in my mind for a couple of days now, since reading a tripadvisor review by a cruiser and I suppose reinforced today by a few so I’ll leave it there for now but the next blog will be about the cruisey cruisers!

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Adventure, holiday, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

