Diving Daku II – sucking it up!

Well, after struggling with the process on my first day of diving and then deciding not to continue with the PADI it was time to do a bit of sucking it up, naming my shit and actually speaking with our divemaster and sharing why I struggled and as a result I can now announce I did it, I am now an advanced open water diver! Advice I now have to offer, is if you are not an overly confident diver, don’t leave it 10 months between dives and communicate anxiety, amazing how this shit makes life a whole lot easier.

It was a roller coaster of being unconfident and sod this I am not going to let it beat me. My last two days have been spent diving, and once more I have embraced and loved encountering the underwater world. Over the last couple of days we have encountered Triggerfish, Trumpet fish, Pipe fish, giant Maori wrasse fish (it was huge, I tell you!!!!!!) Parrotfish, juvenile barracuda, Lizard fish, nudibranches and the list goes on!

The reefs in this bay are beautiful, the water is calm and visibility is 20m+, other than my freak out, this experience has been great, seen and learned so much. As I mentioned previously, there is no complaints to be made, just be aware and prepared. Dan was our dive master and he was calm, encouraging and so very, very patient.

Daku Resort itself has been a pleasure, JJ is welcoming and very pleasant, Aubrey is just wonderful as are the rest of the guys in this place, all know us by name and all greet you with a smile. We were told on our first night we are no longer guests but family, and to be honest, it may sound corny to us in our part of the world, but these guys have seemed to mean it and live it out.

The meals have been great, but having the self contained villa has meant that we have been able to have snacks and light meals on the deck. For any vegetarians reading this, the kitchen has been more than happy to accommodate, and it’s not been the same as the meat eaters without the meat, which I have experienced before, it’s been a completely different meal, so when the menu was fish and salad, I was served stuffed capsicum with rice and salad, it was beautiful, fresh and tasty.

We only have two more nights left and tonight we head into the local village to visit and share Kava, so really looking forward to that. Any questions ask away!

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Diving, holiday, PADI, travel, Vegetarian, Vegetarian Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

