Eve of the Wedding

I’m sat on the deck of the little cottage at Spicers Clovelly Estate in Montville, the crickets are singing and the beautiful rolling hills create a great atmosphere as I sit and ponder on the eve of my beautiful daughters wedding. The bride and her bridal party have wandered down to the lawn for a bit of a practice while I enjoy just five minutes of quiet and reflect on the last few weeks of preparation and the fast approaching day. It’s a day, that as the mother of the bride, you anticipate will happen, it’s a day that lots of preparation has gone into, it’s a day you want your daughter to enjoy with every inch of her being.

There have been tears today, but they have been tears of joy and of love and now this evening is a time to relax for all. For me, I still recall so clearly the day she was born, the tiny little girl that entered the world, the little girl who grew and at least for a while her mums kiss fixed everything, the girl who has thrown a number of tantrums and I am sure has been a contributing factor to the amount of hair dye I have already used. I have watched her grow into a beautiful young independent woman, I have watched her as her career has started and hugged her good bye when she spread her wings and moved to Sydney, now I watch as she prepares to enter deeper into her relationship with her beautiful young man, the one who captured her heart and loved her, even as a stroppy teenager. 

Tonight I will sleep well, I know that she is happy, I know that her future husband, and not too distant future now, is a kind, gentle and loving man, that’s not to say there will not be tears before bedtime or even after waking, and that’s me not her, but not one tear will be of sadness, just pure joy and pure love, because what more could any mother want than to gaze upon her grown up daughter and think wow what an amazing young woman she has become, what strength she has, how wise she has grown, how compassionate is this kid. And so another chapter of life begins for both so us.

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

