The Wedding

Wow has to be the first word I use! 

My day began at 5:30am with the mandatory cup of tea. The weather was bleak, mist rolled in, then out and then back in. The rain drizzled and every now and again the wind would blow it across the deck, I kept telling myself it’s early, the sky could be blue by mid day, it was cold, yep cold, Queensland, middle of summer just all seemed so wrong. That said nothing would be ruining this day!

Bit of dishwashing, bit of ironing and then the bridal party emerged from their slumber, one by one and so to breakfast, on the terrace we sat sipped tea and watched the rain fall. Now it’s very important to say that the bride, our beautiful eldest Revthreads remained as calm as a calm thing, she was not going to let the weather get in her way, she was going to get married outside, on the lawn, under a tree, regardless. After breakfast it was the move up to the bridal suite and then it was on!  My role was to do as I was told, to go where I was needed and just love every minute of it, my beautiful girl was getting married and all that mattered was that she was happy and all was well, I swear I ran off every calorie that I had consumed at breakfast running between the bridal suite and the cottage trying to be the best mother of the bride possible. 

As each hour passed I saw three already beautiful young women become more beautiful as hair was carefully styled and put in place and their make up applied, seriously these girls looked amazing, best looking bridesmaids and maid of honor on the planet. Watching these young women enjoy every moment was amazing, no-one snapping or stressing, just enjoying.  Then the bride, my gorgeous girl, her hair was curled and put into place, her make-up applied to perfection and then she stepped into her dress! The most amazing sight, our beautiful little girl was transformed into a beautiful bride, this really was the sort of day that fairy tales are made of. As all of this was happening rain came and went, but came back, all the while our beautiful girl remained calm and continued with her determination to get married outside.
The groom and the groomsmen, all looking very dapper hung around. The very handsome groom was also determined this would be an outdoors wedding, the only thing that would prevent it was if the heavens completely opened up. Staff on standby for the last half hour, where would seating be! Well of course it was outside.  The groom took his place, a beaming smile across his face but you could see the anticipation, this was happening, he was marrying his bride, the woman, who for already so long, he had loved deeply and cared for unconditionally – the sight of true love right there.

The drizzle was light, the ground wet it was time. We had a bit of a contingency plan to keep the wedding dress as clean as possible, I would now be the wedding chauffeur and drive the bride and bridal party 50 meters to prevent gravelling of dresses. The groom in place, I took my seat, Mr Revthreads took his daughter by the arm and cue, music, you and me by lifehouse and the bridal party began their journey to the arbor where the groom and priest (who incidentally is a great friend and these two kids have joked about this moment for 6 years saying they wanted him to marry them – see serious fairytale shit right here) where waiting. There she was, on her fathers arm, well I sobbed, the groom sobbed, she sobbed and her dad sobbed, yep cry fest was on, the drizzle and rain of the morning was replaced with tears of joy flowing.

I will never forget that moment she emerged as a bride, the emotion, the love, the joy, the pure happiness I felt, then to see her with her poppa bear, as she calls him, that’s where the wow comes in.

The ceremony was wonderful, just perfect, thanks to Bob, who just took so much care to make it all perfect and personal, I think Mr Revthreads and myself burst into tears intermittently throughout, rings exchanged, register signed, Mr and Mrs, husband and wife right there.

After photos and chatting the reception began, the dining area was set up so perfectly, flowers carefully placed on each table, name places at each seat, the bridesmaids and groomsmen emerged, each groomsman with a bridesmaid on their back and then the happily married newly weds. At the speeches our youngest Revthreads had made a video of family and friends unable to attend, so yes you guessed more tears, then great speeches made by Mr Revthreads (so from the heart, so genuine, so proud) the grooms father, the best man and finally our girl.

Then the party started, the night to be honest was a bit of a blur, because so much had happened, everyone was enjoying themselves, there was a photobooth where people could leave video messages and photos to make more memories. There was dancing and frivolity. Our beautiful girl, married, ready for the next chapter of their lives together, ready to prepare for their honeymoon, which just to top it off they ended up booking where we had booked to take our friends, so they’re not gonna live that one down in a hurry.  There is so much I could say, it was a huge day, but I’ll sign off with WOW!

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in children and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

