Road Trip – Brisbane to Sydney Part 2, the last leg

so this post is a little late coming, almost a week, but as I explained the trip was a bitter sweet one and so once we arrived in Sydney it was about settling in and enjoying the time. So after a comfortable nights sleep at the Best Western HW Boutique Hotel, we went for our complimentary continental breakfast – toast and tea! Now as I sat at the window looking out on quite a beautiful coastline, we did notice we were the youngest in the breakfast room, and although the view was beautiful, I felt like I had been transported into a B & B in Blackpool, it was quite strange, to top it off, I caught Mr Revthreads having a conversation with a woman about the toaster and the dial and thought, goodness is this a parallel universe! Anyhoo, all was good, it was time to load up and get on the road, on 352 ks to go. Still the road was like a country road, lots of trees and dotted along the highway was more construction. We stopped at a servo for subway just off the highway not too far from Sydney and discussed how amazing it was that we were so close to a major city and feel like we were in the middle of nowhere. We pushed on and it was fairly suddenly, the road tripled in size and the traffic began to heave, welcome to Sydney, time to put the navigation on!

There was lots of pondering from this point, quite a lot of silence as we both took in what was around us, knowing that this was going to be Mr Revthreads home for the majority of time over the next year, it was here he would live and work, coming home for weekends and rostered days off. The sadness that he would be missing our grandson and I would be missing his presence, ever so slightly balanced out but the comforting fact that he would be living with our eldest daughter and her man. Sydney is a huge sprawling place and I’m not a big fan, it gets too cold, but I like the place even less now that it has 50% of my family! All of this said we managed to enjoy our time. On the full day we had we took a walk from Darling Harbour to The Rocks along the harbourside, we had a great lunch at Medusa Greek Taverna on Market Street (definitely worth a visit) we wandered around the city before catching the ferry back for dinner.

We had two nights before flying home, at which point I would like to give thanks, praise and gratitude to the Wright Brothers for their invention of the plane, followed by the Russian aircraft which was identified as the first commercial flight, this is how you travel to and from Sydney, the road trip was fun and all, but flying is much quicker, it took us 11 hours to drive and 1hr 10 mins to get home. A lesson was also learned by Mr Revthreads, basically don’t simply glance at ones boarding pass, actually read it! At about 7:15pm a panicked husband and daughter ran at me to say quick we fly at 7:30, so I believed them and we ran, cutting in the queue at security, as we ran towards the gate I looked at my boarding pass and stopped to inform the little panic merchants we board at 7:30! Now all we needed was those very polite and accommodating travelers to be on our flight and think we’d pulled a fast one!

Anyway home now, and my next blog will probably be about my beautiful Grandsons baptism, that I got to do, but as for Mr Revthreads and me, we have begun what I now term a sadventure. 

   
The highway to Sydney

 
Port Macquarie in the morning!

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Diving, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

