Baby Revthreads Baptism

So becoming a minister all those years ago was a bit left field, to say the least! With this role comes many honors and privileges, which includes, weddings, baptisms and funerals, being invited into people’s lives for various reasons and at various times, some happy some not so. The one thing I always remember is that it is, as I have said, an honour and a privilege. 

On Sunday 7th Feb, I was privileged to babptise Baby Revthreads, my beautiful grandson. It’s hard to explain how special that was but, I’ll give it a go, because you see any baptism is a privilege, but here I held this perfect little boy, whose mum I had nurtured and cared for, who I had cradled in my arms all those years ago, this perfect little boy that captured my heart from the moment he was born. I was privileged to cradle this little boy as I recited the baptism liturgy, to gaze upon him as he slept, my heart was soft, filled with so much love. The nerves were actually unbelievable, because I wanted to make this occasion extra special for his mum and his dad, not that this is never the case, baptisms are always special, but this was my grandson and my daughter and her partner, this was the future of my family right here! I wanted it to be something they and the rest of the families and friends would look back on and think, “yep, it was a celebration, it was a positive experience filled with joy.” As he laid, cradled in my arms asleep, I was desperate not to upset him as I poured the water over his perfect little head and made the sign of the cross upon his forehead. As I took the first handful of water, I almost held my breath, as it rested upon him, he flinched but received with no tears, as I continued, there was no more flinching, just receiving. My beautiful little grandson, baptized and proud Naniji was able to do that for him. If that’s not a great gift, I’m not sure what is!

   
A major highlight in my ministry

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in children, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

