Sydney Bound Again

Well the sadventure is underway, Mr Revthreads can’t make it home this weekend because the Sydney Revthreads bunch are moving to their new apartment, so this Revthreads has decided to hop on a plane and thinking to help them move would be a good thing to do, not to mention I get to see my man. Yep after almost 30 years as a couple and 26 years of marriage we actually still like each other and enjoy each other’s company, amazing I know!

Traveling alone is always an interesting time, when you are alone there is no one to chat to so you get to sit back and watch others going about their lives, watching people as they sit intensely with their hand held devices engaging with social media, emails, TV, oh how the world has changed, whatever did we do without them? Oh yes that’s right we used to engage with others! The only interaction I had was with one guy, because after I had gotten comfortable in my seat on the aircraft, he stood next to me, he was checking his boarding pass, I thought nothing of it, until he said “excuse me, you are in my seat,” yep I’d sat in the wrong row, oh well his seat was nice and warm by now.

The flight to Sydney is only an hour and 10 mins so it passes fairly quickly, as I looked around most people had their earphones in and attached to some sort of device, the young woman next to me watched a movie, the guy across the way worked busily on his spreadsheet – with earphones in, the woman across the way was watching something – with headphones in. The complimentary non-vegetarian cheese and biscuits were served with a drink, so as I ate the biscuits and left the cheese, I sipped my red wine and blogged about the baptism. I do remember flying as a kid and remembered there was no inflight entertainment (bit like today on short haul, it’s all iPads) I remember my parents speaking to people, how bizarre is that, actually talking to people and each other, otherworldly concept now! But even as I write this I recognize the “I,” IPhone, IPad, it really is an individualistic society that we are in.

Anyhoo, I arrived in Sydney, picked up my bag and headed off to see my man, who was waiting patiently in the pick up area, and what a great sight it was. It’s only been 4 nights and I get to see him for 2 nights, and this is the reality for so many people here in Australia and I suppose around the world. Personally I hate it and I don’t think Mr Revthreads is particularly a fan, but this is our lives for at least a year. I can’t help thinking about people with young families who have to do this, with rosters like four weeks on and one week off, at least I get to see him every week, I wonder how young couples who have only recently met get to know one another truly when they are part for long periods of time. There are many who make this journey and many who don’t, mental health problems and suicide of FIFO workers is a reality for many families. These big companies that offer opportunities for people to earn a good wage on projects that leave tradespeople feeling that their skills are important, which they are, without trades we’d be in a bit of a pickle, yet in the current employment market here in Australia working away is the way to get a position where the work brings some level of satisfaction and worth. I can’t help but question this, I accept the opportunities are great for people, they get an opportunity to work on major projects around Australia, companies talk about the care of their employees, they highlight stress indicators to raise awareness, so what I don’t get is why more companies don’t offer even time rosters? Now in theory Mr Revthreads is not FIFO, his point of hire is Sydney, but as the other half of the family, me included are not in a position to just move interstate, he has to Fly in and out to see us or vice versa. This is another move by many major companies, at least this way they don’t have to pay for flights or living away from home allowances, sneaky! Well there’ll be much more pondering on the FIFO epidemic over the coming months, I’m sure. But it is all of this that has helped me coin the phrase “sadventure.”

Today I will be packing boxes and doing what mums do for their children, tonight I think I get to go out for dinner with my man and we will actually chat, hand held devices will be banned!

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Adventure, children, FIFO, travel, Vegetarian Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

