The move on the horizon

An adventure began in February as Mr Revthreads moved down to Sydney to begin his new job, little did we know then that our whole lives would change. After the hope that Mr Revthreads would be home every weekend was dashed by the incoming overtime the question arose, “why am I staying in Brisbane, when my life partner was in Sydney?” Now both the Revthreads children are adults, one lives in Sydney and one at home with me and her partner and yes of course, the beautiful little grand-revthreads! So while the question seems to have a clear cut answer of “get your backside down to Sydney,” this answer has been deep in the shadow of leaving a great placement, not having a placement to go to, leaving the beautiful family that I visit regularly in BITA, leaving my daughter which is absolutely intimately connected to the big one, leaving my grandson, who has melted my heart and for who I wanted to be the naniji that is just down the road.

After much soul searching, and of course what is a good drama without tears, lots of them, the decision has been made and I am preparing to head to Sydney for a new chapter in our lives in Australia. Now after 30 years together and 26 years of marriage I think it is pretty clear that Mr Revthreads and myself actually still really like each other and each others company, and that I think leads to the suggestion that the soul searching didn’t take too long, but while the answer was there, the journey through the shadows surrounding the answer has been and in many ways continue to leave me in moments of darkness. I can’t wait to be reunited with my man, to begin a whole new adventure, to actually live just as a couple for the first time in 24 years. But, there is no escape from the sadness that comes from leaving the city I have called home of the last 16 years, having limited visits to my daughter and grandson and the beautiful family in BITA (hopefully that will look very different soon) leaving my friends, leaving all the people I love – so that folks is what the shadows look like.

One of the horrors at this stage, (7 weeks and 2 days until I leave, not that I am counting) is that I have no job and there is a prospect of becoming a stepford wife with no job. What does Revthreads as housewife look like? God only knows, it’s not a role I have ever played, will I begin to iron underwear? Will I begin to paint my nails? Will I begin to colour coordinate or worse dress completely in beige????? Other horrors include packing, I have to think about it even though it is still a little early to do too much. Our daughter will remain in the house and we have the probability of living in an apartment – how does one decide the necessary requirements for apartment living? My food processor in it’s box took up the whole boot of my car, but it must come on the journey, how else does one whip up homemade veggie foods? My books, my books, the hard decision of which ones to take, books are important in ones life!

When we moved into our home here in Brisbane I never imagined for one minute I would be heading off again to another new home and definitely never saw the new State coming! But alas life throws up new and exciting opportunities when you least expect it and really doesn’t take into account the quandaries that one is hurled into. So to finish on a serious note, it’s been a hard decision but it’s made and there is an air of excitement in the life of the Revthreads family. I will head into the land of packing in the weeks to come (one I hope I am able to emerge from unharmed) I will prepare for the road trip south (complete with thermals) and I will prepare for the farewells but never good-byes (I will be back regularly)

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Adventure and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

