One week to go!

In my last blog I shared that the decision was made and I had decided I would be Sydney bound. Well I have only one week left here in Brisvagas before I hop in the car and make the journey south.

Packing, well what can I say? The straw that broke the camels back, moving requires stratergy, you don’t want to move empty space because you’re still charged for it, so I had a super thought tsunami, it was so much more than a brainwave. My bookshelves are cubes so a typical book box doesn’t fit, I woke and thought wine bottle boxes! Fill them with books and pop them on the shelves. I was thwarted by an older man who works in our local bottle shop when he told me I could only take six of the boxes that would eventually end up in the bin! I was absolutely gob smacked, like he paid for those boxes with his own money, did he realize the amount of wine I’d purchased over the last 8 years! Melt down number one, actually probably the only packing melt down but still. The next day I glanced casually to see who was working and it was they guy who was very friendly so I tried again, much to my relief he told me take what you want and so I was able to see through with my super thought tsunami, which I have to say is a great packing tip, even though I do say so myself!

My urges to pack have my attention for anywhere between 5 mins and an hour so, with one week to go, the house is a mess with some sealed boxes and a number of half packed boxes, but tomorrow is the pack up day, the boxes have to be finished with clothes that are needed handy and everything in one room, the reason, well Mr Revthreads is home for the weekend and then the next time he gets home is to drive to sydney the next day and the removal it’s don’t pick up our stuff until 3 days after we leave.

Of course the sadness of leaving the youngest Revthreads is real and always there, grandson Revthreads is now a beautiful, energetic 6 month old, who laughs and chuckles, rolls and shuffles. My heart is ever so much a little bit broken, but the decision has been made with them, it’s their time to be a family unit, baby Revthreads mum and dad, Naniji Revthreads will be the doting visitor on a regular basis. As the weeks have passed all has become more real, we now have a Revthreads pad in Sydney, a whole new area to explore and navigate, the older Revthreads get to spend some quality time with mum, which I have been informed involves Sunday dinner!  Here in Brisvagas the farewells have begun, it’s strange how it’s when huge decisions like this are made you really do realize how important people are. It’s not that I have ever considered the people in my life as insignificant or not important, but somehow the journey to get to where you are on the journey gets lost along the way. The people around me here have been so intergral in my making my life here in Australia, they have been the support, the fun and frivolity, the people that have laughed and cried with me. They have been the family for the little Revthreads as they have grown up into bigger Revthreads, they are our family here.

I still don’t have a job, but that’s less scary now, still a little concerned about the stepford wife thing, but hopefully I will resist the darkside. 

I have my final service at the church on Sunday, that’s gonna be hard, I love the people, the community and will miss all the connections I have built, not that they will all disappear, but I have had the honor and privilege to share in the lives of so many. I have joined people together in marriage, I have baptized children and I have celebrated the lives of people at funerals, if that’s not honor and privilege, I’m not sure what is. When I entered ministry I never really grasped what an amazing world it would be, of course there are challenges, there are people involved, but I have met some truly beautiful people and I will miss them all. I am also proud to say I still after 8 years in ministry have not dropped an “f” bomb from the pulpit, success right there, for me anyway. 

Anyhoo, enough for now, the next entry will probably be at the half way stop to the new pad!

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Adventure, children, Interstate moving, moving, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

