Bounty Island – Day 1

We were booked on the 9am transfer to the island so it was an early start, we had a 7:15am pick up. Denaru Marina wasn’t far and we had soon checked in and got rid of our bags. But, yes there is a but, when we checked in our ticket said 9am departure, but the nice man who’d taken our bags had said he would put us on the 8:30am boat so we get a bit of extra time. So we went for coffee and just sat taking in the warm balmy air. The boat started to board, so we just double checked, was it out transfer, not sure, so ask! The woman looked at our tickets and told us, ‘no, not yet.’ So we sat back down. At 8:26am, yes I remember clearly, because I looked at my phone for the time thinking, well we’re cutting it a bit fine for 8:30 departure, so I checked again and realized the ticket said 9am. The woman in charge of our bags took me to the 9am departure bag pile and asked if I could see my bags and, you guessed it, no, she looked at me and simply responded, ‘quick, get on the boat!’ So it was a mad dash down the pier and onto the boat.

The 35 min trip to Bounty was pretty uneventful, but definitely pretty, the ocean calm, the sky blue, the sun shining. Once at Bounty we transferred to a small boat that’d take us ashore, as we approached the staff played guitars and sang to welcome us! Fiji knows how to do welcome. 

Obviously being so early our rooms weren’t ready so we left our bags, donned our togs and found a suitable lazing spot, taking in the beauty around us. The morning passed as did the 12 o’clock promise of a room. We had lunch and then asked if our room was ready, we just wanted to put our bags away! It was ready so off we went to our beach front bure, thing is, it only had one bed and no hot water in the shower, sorry correction, no water for a shower at all! So 2 trips to reception and 3 maintenance men later all was well in the world.

We pretty much did nothing, we lazed in the sun, read a bit, had a dip in the ocean, napped a bit, that’s island life I guess, pure unadulterated bliss!

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Fiji, holiday, travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

