Fiji, We’re Here

It was a long day, we headed to youngest Revthreads for our lift to the airport at 7:45am and what a day. Our flight with Fiji Airlines was pleasant, or meal provided us with the most entertainment as we proceeded to pretty much drop everything we touched; butter, buttered bread roll and sultanas, yep the decorated the floor around us. Whether we were just tired or just quite frankly couldn’t believe the mess two grown women were making, I’m not sure, but we laughed until we were close to tears. Oh then there was a guy sat behind us who seemed to think we were about to fleece him! Obviously we look the sort, he was concerned about his case then checked his wallet! One he’d established we had taken nothing, he went on to tell us he was buying an island – who knows really!

Our first night was spent at Aquarius on the Beach, a pleasant little place. Our evening was relaxed, we sat by the pool for dinner listening to some local guys playing music, of course it would’ve been rude not to partake in the Kava! After dinner and listening to singing in native Fijian, I would be lying if I didn’t say I was s little taken aback to hear them singing Country Roads, sudden flashback to being a child in the back of the car, and other moments of unexpected country roads experiences.

After dinner we wandered to the waters edge, watching the gentle ebb and flow of the ocean, the water pleasantly cool on our feet. The night air was warm and calm, but if paradise really.

I sit now at stupid o’clock in the morning, we have to be ready to leave at 7:15am for Bounty Island. I then realized, doesn’t matter if I’m up at stupid o’clock because if I need to nap I can! So it’s 5:30am, I sit sipping green tea, blogging, with cockerels cockreling and a few kcal dogs ensuring their presence is heard. Overall though, it’s pretty quiet, the air is still warm and I am preparing once more for exercising the art of doing nothing!

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Fiji, holiday, travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

