Bounty Island Day 2

After my stroll along the beach in the fresh morning air I’ve arrived at the wifi spot to reflect on yesterday’s adventures.

Greeted by the sun and her glistening rays across the ocean, there’s no escape from the fact we’re in paradise. We pottered around getting our stuff together for our morning. First stop would be breakfast, then a nice little corner of the beach. Donning our swimming togs, sarongs, sunscreen and sunglasses, we were ready. As the door was pulled closed, the words rang in the sure, “have you got the key?” Well, no I didn’t so this was the morning the not so unexpected happened, we locked ourselves out and had to pop to reception and fess up! There’s spares so it’s no bother but day 1 began with us at reception for various things, a reception free day would be good, anyhoo the lovely woman seems to find us a little amusing, glad we can cheer people up!

So after breakfast we found a little corner of the beach and claimed it. The morning sun is particularly pleasant to sit in and have a read as the ocean laps the shoreline in the background. Sitting still for too long is a bit of a challenge for me, so by mid morning I thought it would be good to go for a snorkel. I popped to the hut on the beach and grabbed the gear. Now graceful was not the order of the day here, the sand is harsh on the feet with lots of coral and shale, so with much wobbling and contorting of face I managed to get my fins on and get in the water. The visibility was amazing, as soon as my face was in the water I was greeted by fish.

The coral where I was, was not that colorful, in fact beige came to mind, but that just heightened the beautiful colors of the angel fish I encountered. There were so many fish feeding in the vegetation and all went well until something bit me! At first I thought it was just sea lice but apparently I had been befriended by a microscopic jellyfish, little bugger it really hurt. Anyway I enjoyed my time with the fish!

After that lunchtime was close, the sun really heating up so of course, what you do is go kayaking. The two of us took a tandem for a little jaunt. We had much fun, a few near misses with significantly larger seafaring vessels, but fun! After about 40 mins of paddling, floating and burning we headed back! Again graceful didn’t come into it as we disembarked, I managed to get out, again the sand underfoot made it hard, then my dear friend got out, the sand underfoot getting the better of her, yep she was in and getting back up almost lead me to incontinence. But we ploughed through and headed off for lunch.

The afternoon and evening was quiet, once we had been let back into our room it was nap time.

Once awake from our slumber we decided to walk the perimeter of the island. Bounty is quite small it only took us about 40 minutes, again the ground fought us the whole way. At one point we heard what we thought was a bee colony as a deep humming came from the trees, alas we learned on the way back to our bure that it was a much less romantic generator! We thought the bee colony sounded much more exciting. then it was shower time, alas after 4 attempts of turning on taps, it was time to pop to reception, we know how much they love our visits, to inform them that once again we had no water in the shower.

Reception greeted us with “oh no” and then we all laughed, the maintenance man would meet us at the bure, which he did. He walked into the shower and turned that tap straight on! We couldn’t stop laughing or apologizing for that matter, we had tried, perhaps there was a shower conspiracy!!!! Anyhow we were able to get ready for dinner!

After dinner it was just a few drinks by the pool, overlooking the ocean before retiring from our adventures for the day, but what an amazing day it was in paradise.

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Fiji, holiday, Snorkeling, travel, Uncategorized, Walking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

