Bounty Island Day 3

So once more I’ve done my stroll down the beach, the horizon glowing warm amber and red, the warmth of the sun beginning to wake and ready to rise. The young men hard at work raking the coral and the seaweed that has been left on the beach over night. It’s my quiet space to look back on yesterday.

We began once more with our little routine of breakfast, then for me it was on to the little corner of the beach for a while, my dear friend went off to do some washing. Been on a small island there’s not a huge amount to do, but as I lay with the warmth of the sun gently resting on my skin I listen to the ocean gently lapping on the beach, reminding me constantly of the awe of creation, the ebb and flow of life, the rhythm of time. I lay for a while, read for a while, then as the gentle sun rays turn hotter it’s time for a dip to cool down.

My friend joins me after a couple of hours and kerfuffle commences as we decide to take out a tandem kayak again. As we head over the words run from her mouth ” we know how this is going to end? I’m going to fall in!” I remind her to stop and laughter already commences. We get the kayak, her turn to get in first. The rough sand and shales under foot put up a fight once more, she climbs in, she’s in and with the next little flow of water she’s out! Lack of gracefulness is an understatement this time, it was an almighty splash, as she rise from the water her poor knees look like that of a five year old that has gone a full round with playground bitumen. Gravel rash is definitely now an understatement, her poor knee looks positively gouged! Bloodied and sore she’s determined and she goes again, this time with success. We begin to paddle out on the ocean. The water is calm and clear, within a minute of my friend saying she can’t see any fish a whole school of sergeant major fish turn up, happily swimming around checking out the kayak. We paddle, then float, during the floating moments we’re able to get glimpses of the reef structures below, tiny fish dashing in and out. A guy snorkeling calls us over, there are two octopus below him so we dash over to check it out, I get a glimpse but that’s all. So I hand my underwater camera to the guy and ask him if he would take a couple of shots for me, kind man did just that.

We’d been on the water for about 45 minutes and the drum calls us to lunch so with trepidation we head back to shore, will she make it out of the Kayak? As we hit the beach, I dig my oar in to stabilize the kayak….she’s out and up on her feet, success. So I climb out, there’s no one around to help get the kayak on the shore, so using the water as our aid we pull the kayak as far on shore as possible. Quite proud we turn to walk for lunch, then out the corner of our eye we see said kayak floating off! Bugger, we stumble back only to be redeemed by a guy from the dive shop he calls out ” you go, I’ll get this.” Phew, that could’ve been messy!

After lunch we saw a few people parasailing, so in a snap decision I decide, why not? I’ve done it before but not from a beach start, I’ve seen them though, on the funny home video shows! So hooked up, instructions clear, the boat moves, the parachute opens, a gentle pull and I begin to rise in the air. There was an initial what the …. As I look down and think I’m just hooked on to this thing, but then exhilaration sets in, the clear ocean below just me in the air, flying without the big steel bird caging me in. It was pretty amazing. As the boat turned to begin the journey back a turtle in the waters below pops up, I’m sure she or he waved! Anyway concentration now needed, I had to watch for the instructions to get myself on landing course, arms out, now pull the left of the shoot, ok I need two hands, then I gently drift left, on course, gentle touch down, thank you very much! Amazing!

Then more lazing, until shower time, the conspiracy continues, this time we have no water. So our ritual walk to reception, which is filled with laughter and apologies, so we walk back. The maintenance man meets us and explains there had been a problem, no one had water but now all is well. We turn the tap in the shower full of hope and anticipation…no water, you have to laugh. The ritual walk commences again and the maintenance man returns, this time we’re informed we have to push the tap, he turns it off but we make him wait while we try, basically we just can’t work the taps, we get the nice young man to turn on the tap and leave it on we’ll shower immediately.

Dinner time arrives, a boatload of young volunteers arrive and the mealtime drum sounds. These young guys flock like they’ve never seen food, it was quite a spectacular sight, I’ve never seen such a scramble for food. Would there be anything left? Of course there was, but it was funny watching them.

After dinner the multitasking staff sing, the air filled with strong Fijian voices, beautiful. Then as we leave today, we along with another couple were called up with the staff as they sang us a Bounty Island farewell, quite beautiful.

Another eventful day filled with rest, relaxation, laughter and grazed knees, the sun is down, we take our glass of wine, stumbling over the challenging sand to our beachside bure for the last night, where we sit sipping our wine, listening to the ocean, recapping our day.

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Fiji, holiday, travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

