Farewell 2016

Figured it might be a good time to write another entry, the beginning of a New Year with the acknowledgement that 2016 was a bitter sweet year indeed. Now I am not about to write it off, the year began with a beautiful wedding, watching the oldest Revthreads marry her man, this was followed with a wonderful trip to Hamilton Island with our good friends from the UK that had traveled for the Revthreads wedding event. We have had and continue to have the privilege of watching our beautiful Revthreads Grandson grow and learn new things, building a bond with him that, to be honest, I never imagined possible. I traveled to Fiji with my good friend and had a blast. But in the midst of all of this, came the biggest change and upheaval, far more of an upheaval than either of us expected and that has been Mr Revthreads relocating to Sydney followed by myself.

As I have previously shared the first few months in Sydney were dark days indeed, as we get older we forget how difficult it is to make new friends and build new networks, particularly when you have lived in the same place for a number of years and built those friendships and connections. There have been days that have felt like a dark cloud has descended upon me and the challenge to search for a break in the darkness has been long and hard, with the desperate hope that some golden light would shine through, providing the glimpse of hope that the cloud would lift, would dissipate.

Eventually I began my new placement, light breaking through, hope much more tangible, all of that said its not been a smooth run, there have been turbulent moments, but then I guess the reality is that, this is the life in ministry or indeed any role where there are different people with different expectations, so much newness.

I head into this New Year with a renewed sense of hope, as the year has come to an end there have been more light days than dark days, life is settling, somewhat, and there is a confidence that this chapter will ultimately be one of adventure, however it works out. There are joys that lay ahead, including the expected birth of the 2nd Revthreads Grandchild, a trip to the UK to visit Mr Revthreads mum – I have no doubt there will be more joys in different forms and shapes and tastes and I’m a realist, of course there will be more challenges but the dark clouds that descend always break, even if in the moment it feels like they never will.

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

