So long Sydney.

It’s just over a year since I left Brisbane for a shot at life in Sydney, the main priority was to be with Mr Revthreads. Alas, 14 months later I am back on home soil in Brisbane. It’s not that I don’t want to be with Mr Revthreads, and all about Sydney being a hard place to crack, the draw back was the ever growing grand baby revthreads and the knowledge that mr Revthreads will come home most weekends.

My time in Sydney was very turbulent and even in a big city it’s a lonely place and I do thank God for the very good friends I had and made whilst I was there. Sydney is, without a doubt, a very pretty city but other than the beautiful people I met, for me that’s where the enjoyment ended. It’s a city that even if I fell head over heels in love with, I could never afford to buy a home, not where we were anyway and it was very nice there, Rozelle/Balmain area to be precise. I’ve missed the warmth of people at the grocery stores, the greetings as people pass by, the ability to see my grandchildren regularly and the warmth of the sun on my skin.

Of course I am paying a price, I only get to see Mr Revthreads on his weekends off, but I know that it will be quality time and it’s not forever, but it’s still a huge cost. That said, we have a little pad in Brisbane that we will call home, we will both get to see the grand babies more regularly, when I lived in Sydney we only managed to get back once a month, now it will be pretty much weekly.

Since I arrived back in Brisbane, my feet have been set free, for weeks now in Sydney they have been covered in socks and boots, but now they’ve been liberated and my trusty Birkenstocks are out, my toes feeling the fresh air. My winter jacket is already away, my jumpers swapped for t-shirts. I walked into a furniture shop today for a browse and was greeted by the staff first of all asking how my day was before asking if I needed any help. At the grocery store the woman on the checkout engaged in conversation, I have never met here before but she took time to engage. Now you may be thinking, but that’s their job, but I have to say I encountered very few experiences of this in Sydney, particularly in furniture shops.

Anyhoo, this is not about bashing Sydney, but about rejoicing at being home, and thinking I will now get an opportunity write a blog about our recent trip to the UK, my favourite writing topic, travel, and I’ve not had the space to do it because of the move. So I’m back, it’s time to find a job and in the meantime do some of the other things I love, my blog, yoga and spend time with the grandies.

 

About revthreads

I originally decided to get a blog because I think any adventure, travel experience should be journaled and then thought it's good to share. Some things may be interesting to others and other things not so much but sharing is good! I love to travel, I don't get to do as much as I would like, ultimately it would be my dream to just pack up, head off and keep going for as long as possible seeing and experiencing new things, meeting new and interesting people. Like a lot of people I have family and work commitments that keep me grounded, but I am fortunate enough to have a fair few opportunities to head out and live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So long Sydney.

  1. Jo says:

    I’m glad to see your blog is back! We met at a travel writing course at Roselle. Enjoy the warmth of the sun and the grandbabies.

Leave a Reply

